Training a Little Out of Focus

I signed up for the Lincoln Half img_5789Marathon, which I ran last year and was a lot of fun. And honestly, it’s a great way to get into the fall marathon spirit. It’s in May, so there is only a slight gap between training cycles.

I realized, while thinking about my training for that, that I’ve been saying “I’m going to do all this great strength training and yoga the first half of the year.” And I’ve still been saying that. And then I realized we are half-way through January. That means the “going to” is “now.” And I don’t really have any great plan and haven’t settled into one this new year. I’ve still sort of been in cruising training mode, running somewhere between three and five miles when I feel like it, going to yoga a few times a week.

img_5762I need to find some structure. I got a thread going in our Volee Chicago marathon Facebook group about training plans. I think I might actually set a time goal for Chicago. Which is scary. And also I can’t believe I’ve never really done that for a marathon before. I usually have a secret mental time that I don’t tell anyone about. I think it’s time to set some goals for 2017, to figure out a schedule, to make myself accountable for my training again.

Whole30 Update

img_5780Whole30 Round 3 is going great! I’m 12 days in and feeling great about meal prep, and (God, I hate how this sounds) really being kind to myself. I’m trying not to beat myself up about stuff. Do I really, really just want to sit on the couch and knit and watch Parenthood instead of washing the dishes or boxing up the Christmas decorations taking up space on my dining room table, I’m going to. Usually, my Monday nights when img_5741my husband has his weekly “man date” are spent frantically doing the things I didn’t get done over the weekend – scrubbing dishes, baking muffins, folding laundry, and on and on and on. By the time Joe gets home around 9 or 10, I’ve been on my feet for 10 hours, barely having stopped to shovel some food into my mouth for dinner. I’m secretly worried that this new-found kindness is me becoming lazy. But I’m trying not to think too much about that. Hello anxiety, my old friend.

Leave a Reply

