Chicago Marathon 2017, here I come!

I have a list of races that are on my bucket list, and Chicago has been on there for probably as long as I’ve been running marathons. After this past year’s attempt at marathon training and failing, I decided I’d throw my hat into the ring for Chicago 2017, which is also the 40th anniversary of the race.

And I got in! I’m so excited! chicago_entry

So I’m looking forward to the challenge. 2016 has been a rough year. Going into 2017 with something to be excited about, to plan for, to have as a challenge, is really exciting. I need to choose a training plan, too, though there is plenty of time for that. I’ve used Hal Higdon’s in the past, but am exploring my options this time around. I do know that whatever I do, this next year will involve a lot of strength training, yoga, and speedwork.

I’m not necessarily one for resolutions. However, this past year, I’ve had to face a lot of things about myself that I know need to change. And in some ways, those things were manifest in 2015, and I didn’t conquer them this past year like I thought I would. So it’s time to do something different. There’s that Einstein quote about doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result, and that’s kind of where I’ve been. I feel like I’ve just been in this cycle of the same issues and problems that all end in no change. And I’m tired of it.

Here’s to making a change in 2017. Here’s to making a difference.

 

Leave a Reply

